Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: The Put-Em Rights

It is very interesting to read books. I always read story books. My parents don’t allow me to watch TV. They have even cut our cable connection. So I read books and know about the world. I recently read “The Put-Em Rights” by Enid Blyton. I will talk about it here.

Put-Em Rights is a very interesting and inspiring story. It teaches us many things. I learnt many things and loved many things except for a few parts.

I liked the Tramping Preacher who, in the beginning, inspired the young children to make their country develop. I never thought that bossy Sally would plan the idea of a band to put things right. I liked the name of the band “The Put-Em Rights” even though it sounds strange. I found the name interesting. I was looking forward to knowing more about the band and what they did after reading about the name of the band.

I learnt to help people through Amanda. She helped Francis and Mrs Potts to clean the big cottage which was filled with dirt. I liked that she came forward to clean Emily. I never thought this lazy girl Amanda would do so much. I was also lazy like her but now I help others.

I learnt to treat animals as equals, like we treat human beings through Micky. He was a sweet boy who cared for the dog Midge and saved it from Fellin. He bought it a collar, food and in the end he bought it from Fellin. He was a sweet hearted boy.

I learnt that I can talk to my parents freely through Dodge. He went in front of his father and talked to him about turning the Tupps family out of the house.

I learnt to think critically through Yolande who thought about helping Dodge with his problem, to influence his father to say no to turning the Tupps out of the house.

I learnt not to be bossy through Sally. She was really bossy and didn’t complete her task.

I learnt not to say anything to anyone when I have promised through Bobby. He spoke about his band to his dear mother and she spread it all over. Finally it was Bobby who was hurt by this.

I didn’t like that the secrets of the Put-Em Rights was spread all over. I also wanted it to be a secret and wanted the people to praise the Put-Em Rights. I didn’t like them being teased by the villagers.

I like all the six Put-Em Rights changing their own behaviour. I liked them putting themselves right first and trying to help out after that. I would like to start a band like them. First I’ll remember to put myself right and then others. I would like to start one.

Written by Shalini, STD VII. 

Author:

We are an educational institution committed to inspiring children to explore their creative sides and realising their potential.

Leave a Reply

